Making Lives Better
After Accidents

What are the different levels of burn injuries?

On Behalf of | Apr 18, 2022 | Fatal Accidents And Catastrophic Injuries

You never know when a serious accident might happen in Texas. Some can involve fires or explosions and leave you reeling with catastrophic burn injuries. If you were diagnosed with burns, you need to understand your condition.

What are the different types of burn injuries?

Burn injuries can be caused by different types of contact. Thermal burns can occur from sources of heat that raise the skin’s temperature and damage the tissues and cells. Fire flames, scalding hot liquids, steam and hot metals coming into contact with the skin can cause thermal burns.

Electrical burns occur when a person comes into direct contact with flames stemming from an electrical fire. Electrical fires often happen due to faulty wires.

Chemical burns are serious types of burns that are caused by exposure to substances like acid, solvents and more. These types of burns can affect the skin and eyes when the person comes into such substances.

What are the different burn levels?

There are different levels of burn injuries that determine the severity of the injury. First-degree is the least serious and only affects the outermost layer of the skin. They don’t cause long-term damage or even blistering.

A second-degree burn affects the epidermis and the next layer of skin, the dermis. These injuries are painful, red, blistered and sometimes, swollen.

Third-degree burn injuries are much more serious and destroy the epidermis and dermis. However, they can penetrate even deeper and affect the muscles, tendons and even bones. If the latter three areas are impacted, the injury could be classified as a fourth-degree burn. The skin is often charred or white, resulting in the death of nerve endings.

Severe burn injuries can adversely affect your daily life. If you were injured due to no fault of your own, you will want to fight back and hold the at-fault party accountable.